Dietrich Buxtehude – Membra Jesu Nostri, BuxWV 75
Giovanni Battista Pergolesi
– Stabat Mater Dolorosa, Grave
Dietrich Buxtehude
– Fried und Freudenreiche Hinfahrth, BuxWV 76: II. Klagelied - "Muß Der Tod Denn Auch Entbinden"
Caroline Shaw
–To the Hands
Anna Thorvaldsdottir
– Ad Genua
Patricia van Ness
– Cor meum est Templum Sacrum
in collaboration with Zamus / KGAM e.V. & Kölner Fest für Alte Musik



Step by step, colour after colour, layer upon layer. With various stories and topics that flow into each other. With old and new, religion and alienation, concern and love. This concert thus forms a penetrating musical web that brings thought and reflection in 14 movements –like Christ’s way of the cross with its 14 stations, but with the power of the voice and of the woman as the guiding thread.

Buxtehude wrote one of the most well-known and haunting works of German sacred music before Bach: Membra Jesu Nostri, a cycle of seven cantatas that sing of the body of the crucified Christ. The female composers Caroline Shaw and Anna Thorvaldsdottir have each written a contemporary response to the movements of the Membra Jesu Nostri – from a female perspective.


Bart Van Reyn


One of Belgium’s most sought-after conductors of the new generation, Bart Van Reyn is passionate about opera, symphonic and vocal repertoire.

read biography

Il Gardellino


Vlaams Radiokoor

Read all about the Radiokoor, our rich history and meet our singers.

Concert plus

practical info


from €22



Martin Luther-Platz 2-4, 50677 Köln Südstadt (DE) |


> online

you might also like